Although I have looked at your photographs many times online, I have only just bought your book, I now wish I had bought it ages ago. Although it’s obvious that looking at a print is better than staring at a bunch of pixels, common sense somehow failed me and it wasn’t until your beautiful book arrived that this dawned on me. I was as enthralled with the images as if it was the first time I saw them. The photos illuminate a soulful beauty that most people don’t capture. Thank you for sharing such wonderful photos with us. I was wondering if there was one image that sprung to mind first, that you knew you just had to include, when you was offered the book deal?

Thank you, I’m always pleased to hear that the book is being enjoyed. I agree, it’s nice to view images in print rather than backlit on a luminescent screen.

I didn’t have a particular image in mind when the book project was decided because it happened gradually over a fairly long period of time. I’d been making prints available from my website for quite a number of years and therefore knew how they looked in print and would naturally make it into the book, but there were many more that I’d posted on this blog and others that hadn’t yet been scanned from the negatives and I was pretty curious to see how they would turn out. I guess for me the most exciting part was to allow the designer (Keiji Terai) to aesthetically present the images and design the format in such a way they would work in juxtaposition to one another on the pages.

One thought on “Although I have looked at your photographs many times online, I have only just bought your book, I now wish I had bought it ages ago. Although it’s obvious that looking at a print is better than staring at a bunch of pixels, common sense somehow failed me and it wasn’t until your beautiful book arrived that this dawned on me. I was as enthralled with the images as if it was the first time I saw them. The photos illuminate a soulful beauty that most people don’t capture. Thank you for sharing such wonderful photos with us. I was wondering if there was one image that sprung to mind first, that you knew you just had to include, when you was offered the book deal?

  1. For me… An original Steve Jansen print is never “a simple decorative framed moment” on the wall. For me, they are speaking to me every time i looked. They are not only telling a freezed moment but they are also telling very wider feelings, like a band dynamics, anger, friendship, brotherhood, naivety, proffesionalism, perfection, leadership, balance, frusration, give up…. and many more. Every time i looked at my Jansen prints, i realised they are still living, talking, moving and breathing. Sometimes im forcing myself not look at them for days for collecting my feelings. Years ago when i owned my first print i even cant imagine they are one day effecting me that much, but voila… I became a fan, transformed. Thanks a lot to Mr. Jansen.

    Like

Leave a Reply

