Tender Extinction is a very beautiful album and has been the soundtrack of my life for the last few months. I really enjoyed the fact you decided to sing on it. I read you didn’t particularly agree that you had an interesting voice but I know a lot of people who do and to me it adds something to the album, making it more personal maybe. It definitely adds to the collection of vocal textures the album represents. I wondered if you had taken photos of the album sessions? It would be interesting to see the different vocalists in action. Assuming there were such things as sessions or did these collaborations happen via email whereby you’d send them the finished instrumental parts and they would add their own contribution separately? I’m also very grateful that you invited Perry Blake to appear on Her Distance. All the Best, R.

Thanks for letting me know you enjoy ‘Tender Extincton’, it’s very much appreciated. The entire album was made virtually by exchanging audio files so I’ve no photographs of work in progress. I think it’s a great method for musicians and vocalists to take their time to attain the performances they’re happy with, provided they have the facilitates to self-record, and it’s easy to go back and fourth so you don’t have to go with the initial ideas. I haven’t met Perry since we worked together in the early 2000’s, I’ve not met Nicola since we worked together on her Mandalay project some 30 years ago, and I’ve never met Melentini. Thomas and Tim I meet more frequently but not during the recording of ‘Tender Extinction’. That might seem odd to some but I think a lot of us like working this way.

Leave a Reply

