Hi. I had the pleasure of seeing you perform live a few times. I have forever been inspired by your rhythms, musicality and musicianship. One pertinent memory is your solo gong performance at the Harold Budd farewell show in Brighton. Is it something that was rehearsed or improvised? Had you ever done it before?

Thank you ! I’m sure to many that might conjure up all sorts of weird images, not least of all a well-oiled man in a loincloth swinging his big mallet. But alas … it was much more subtle than that. I hadn’t done it before but I had the opportunity to have a go in soundcheck. The aim with that is to get a sustained ambience going which changes tone and timbre depending upon where the gong’s hit and how hard. It’s a bit like playing a drum roll expect on a gong with soft beaters. It was based upon a recording Budd had made on one of his earlier albums and it was this technique that I used on the album I made with John Foxx titled ‘A Secret Life’ which was a project that emerged after we both took part in the Harold Budd (farewell?) concert in Brighton.

Someone took this from the side of stage during soundcheck: Harold Budd and myself with gong.

Budd & Jansen

4 thoughts on “Hi. I had the pleasure of seeing you perform live a few times. I have forever been inspired by your rhythms, musicality and musicianship. One pertinent memory is your solo gong performance at the Harold Budd farewell show in Brighton. Is it something that was rehearsed or improvised? Had you ever done it before?

  1. Thanks for the insight. I loved it and stood transfixed next to the FOH sound trying to see if there was any trickery involved.

    Thank you

    Like

Leave a Reply

