Some time ago I was asked if I hold drumsticks using ‘traditional grip’ or ‘matched grip’ to which I responded with the latter as I had no recollection of ever doing anything else. However with the recent discovery of local newspaper archival film being found for sale I can see that I did make an initial attempt at ‘traditional grip’ at the age of 14 – a time of conflict… when I was still in transition from David Cassidy (hair) to Alice Cooper (bangles). The confusion in all things must have been compounded by the fact that I was left-handed but playing right-handed because that’s how I saw people playing on TV. This drum kit consisted of only one tom-tom but fortunately I was able to attach bongos by literally hooking the frame onto one of the tuning lugs to create more options to hit but to make matters worse it meant the drum sizes were in the reverse order. With all this confusion going on, underpinned by Mr. Karn’s busy carpet and never being too far from a warm radiator, it’s no wonder I took a more minimalistic approach to drumming, configured around various coping mechanisms.

SJ Forest Hill 1974

2 thoughts on “Some time ago I was asked if I hold drumsticks using ‘traditional grip’ or ‘matched grip’ to which I responded with the latter as I had no recollection of ever doing anything else. However with the recent discovery of local newspaper archival film being found for sale I can see that I did make an initial attempt at ‘traditional grip’ at the age of 14 – a time of conflict… when I was still in transition from David Cassidy (hair) to Alice Cooper (bangles). The confusion in all things must have been compounded by the fact that I was left-handed but playing right-handed because that’s how I saw people playing on TV. This drum kit consisted of only one tom-tom but fortunately I was able to attach bongos by literally hooking the frame onto one of the tuning lugs to create more options to hit but to make matters worse it meant the drum sizes were in the reverse order. With all this confusion going on, underpinned by Mr. Karn’s busy carpet and never being too far from a warm radiator, it’s no wonder I took a more minimalistic approach to drumming, configured around various coping mechanisms.

Leave a Reply

