Do you still hold the music you did for Japan in high regard? Or is it something that you feel doesn’t hold up well in comparison to your solo works?

I don’t compare the two. Work put out decades ago is no longer relevant to me creatively. It’s up to others to choose what suits their palette. I’m sure many people (particularly young people discovering JAPAN for the first time) find 80’s music far more inspiring than anything the same band members are putting out today, it’s totally subjective. But if you want to progress there’s little point in repeating yourself. I personally prefer by far where I’m at now to where I’ve been, so I think that kind of answers your question. That said, I believe the four members worked well together (particularly for RTC) and created an interesting body of work for its time.

2 thoughts on “Do you still hold the music you did for Japan in high regard? Or is it something that you feel doesn’t hold up well in comparison to your solo works?

  1. Thanks for the reply, Steve. I definitely understand your point of view and agree with it. And in fact, I’m also one of those young people who discovered Japan for the first time, just about a year ago actually. From there, I was introduced to David’s solo work and yours as well. It’s always interesting to see how an artist evolves their work and I enjoy different eras of your respective careers for different reasons.

    Like

  2. Understandable, artists need to move forward! That said it was beautiful music of its time.
    Side note, i had a Japan day last Saturday and the nostalgia overwhelmed me !

    Like

Leave a Reply

