Steve, I live in London. I am going to Huddersfield University next week for a Richard Barbieri lecture and ‘masterclass’ Am I mad?

That makes me smile because we used to play a trick on Richard when we were cruel teenagers. Richard was never the type to bore you with his world of keyboards so the trick was for one of us to draw him into the subject and gradually he would pick up the thread until he was really enthused and doing all the talking, it’s at this point the person would say in the most sarcastic tone he could muster while yawning: “yeah… that’s really interesting Rich” – it was a masterclass in deflation and it’s amazing how many times we could get away with it. Richard has a great sense of humour so I’m sure he won’t mind if the whole room in Huddersfield did that just the once!

2 thoughts on “Steve, I live in London. I am going to Huddersfield University next week for a Richard Barbieri lecture and ‘masterclass’ Am I mad?

Leave a Reply

