Hi Steve, what interests me most about Japan’s music is the art-informed approach. Given the band’s working-class roots, I understand Japan began as an extension of your identity as outsiders. I’m interested in how you experienced art as a youth, whether influences came from the music you listened to, or with an interest in visual art at school too. Coming from a similar background I know an interest in visual arts isn’t always encouraged so you have to become an autodidact as means of survival.

I’m not an art sponge … I have moments of indulgence but then I return to the real world where things get irritating.

Leave a Reply

