I was wondering how much the environment in which you live & record has an impact on the music you make? It seems with some artists that you can hear the influence of their environment really clearly – In Chances of Light is a perfect example of this; I can’t imagine it sounding the same if it had been written and recorded in Fulham! I assume you have lived in London for most of your life, so do you think has had an impact on how you hear and respond to sound, and how you compose music?

Some composers can express directly about their personal experiences and surrounding environment while others express more from internalised emotions and imaginings whereby their surroundings are a passive element to their creativity in that respect. I’m of the latter type, I suppose. Although I wouldn’t think living in London affects how I respond to sound, I do think that the complex effects of human influence in an impenetrably dense society helps to propel the need to create an alternative world of escape through sound and composition. As such, it’s an influence of sorts. I’m very much a city person. I like the way in which a city ‘unfolds’ gradually and at the same time affords you anonymity and privacy. The thought of living in a small town where everyone knows everything about one other would be rather depressing to me and loses that sense of mystery and chance in everyday life.

Not sure if I’ve managed to answer your question here … 

Leave a Reply

